SMMC News

He feels the need... the need for speed.

Picture of SMMC Admin
He feels the need... the need for speed.
by SMMC Admin - Monday, 17 August 2020, 5:18 PM

This year marks SMMC member John Bennie's 21st Formula One Grand Prix! We felt that was a bit of milestone, so we caught up with him after the two weekends of racing earlier this month to find out more...

This year marks SMMC member John Bennie's 21st Formula One Grand Prix! Those who know John will be aware that he doesn’t like attention and is a fairly quiet, unassuming chap. We felt that 21 years was a bit of milestone though, so we caught up with him after the two weekends of racing earlier this month to find out more...

Tell us a little bit about your background and how you came to be involved in motorsport.

My Dad was a motor engineer by profession and had always loved cars, vans and trucks. I guess I inherited that from him.

When I was 4 years old, I saw a Saab 92 2-stroke rally car and thought it was a fantastic car. The noise, the smell and the look of it. I think that was when I realised motorsport was going to be a lifelong passion.

I was spectating at Ingliston in 1975 and a marshal came across to the fence to ask if I was interested in seeing more action. I joined SMMC and started marshalling (properly) in 1976 with a marshal named Jim Robertson, another very pleasant chap named Nick Clarke, and several others including Colin Goode, George Malloch, Jim Redpath, Keith Brown and Andy Birrell. Since then I've covered rallies, sprints, circuit racing, and hill climbs at Doune, Forestburn and Fintray, as well as motorcycle racing and Super Truck racing events. Until 1990, the furthest I'd travelled to marshal was the North of England but after that I went to York to work a stage of the DLOC International Rally, and a group of us were invited to marshal the 2004 Britcar 24-Hour race at Silverstone which got me hooked on endurance racing. I joined the SMMC Motorsport Rescue Team in 2010.